Musée de Montmartre
The museum was created in 1960 in one of the oldest buildings on the Butte, built in the 17th century: La Maison du Bel Air. Surrounded by gardens, it was the place of creation of many artists such as Auguste Renoir, Émile Bernard, Raoul Dufy, Charles Camoin, Suzanne Valadon or Maurice Utrillo.
You will discover the permanent collections with a unique collection of paintings, posters and drawings that will make you relive the history of the Butte, the artistic effervescence of its workshops, and the atmosphere of its famous cabarets.
The permanent collection presented here will immerse you in the history of Montmartre and reveal its rich culture. During the 19th century, the landscape of Montmartre began to change. The mills stopped their activity and the vineyards slowly disappeared due to urbanisation. In 1860, Montmartre was annexed to the city of Paris. Artists started to move to Montmartre in 1870 and the cafes and cabarets multiplied in the 1880’s.
What quickly came to characterise Montmartre in the eyes of everyone was this effervescent bohemian spirit, a creative energy. This spirit was also present in the artists’ studios : 12 Cortot witnessed the passage of several, most of whom lovingly painted their residence.
Suzanne Valadon's recreated atelier-apartment
In 1912 Suzanne Valadon, Maurice Utrillo et André Utter settled into their atelier-apartment and left a symbolic trace at 12 Cortot. Sadly, not much was left of their original workplace, but thanks to its refurbishment, the spirit of the infernal trio has been restored: the frying pan can be found in its place, the mezzanine was rebuilt in the studio, and the walls of Utrillo’s bedroom still have their original panelling and barbed wire on the windows.
To give life to this reconstruction, the designer Hubert Le Gall, who has worked with reknown institutions, was able to recreate the atelier-apartment, faithful to the letters and writings of the time and as portrayed in historical photographes - an ode of the past.
Just steps from the Place du Tertre, three gardens dedicated to Auguste Renoir surround the Museum of Montmartre. They are named in memory of the impressionist painter who lived on-site between 1875 and 1877, where he painted several masterpieces including the famous le Bal du Moulin de la Galette (“The Moulin de la Galette Ball”), La Balancoire (“The Swing”), and Jardin de la rue Cortot (“Rue Cortot Garden”). The Renoir Gardens offer breathtaking views of the vineyard, the Clos Montmartre, and northern cityscape of Paris.
- The visit of the Gardens without access to the Museum is 5 €. Enjoy the Gardens all year long with our subscription to the Montmartre Museum.
Le Café Renoir
Café Renoir is the ideal base for getting together, alone, in pairs or with others, for a break to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of the city and fully enjoy the summer.
Its glass roof, decorated in the spirit of a winter garden, opens onto the delightful Jardins Renoir. We sit down around a coffee, a light lunch or a snack and we savor every second spent on this green terrace where time is suspended.
The Café offers a snack menu that changes with the seasons and in the spirit of a tea room, with a selection of gourmet products.
Musée de Montmartre's players
› Society of History and Archeology "Le Vieux Montmartre"
Founded in 1886, it was recognized as a public utility in 1967. Since 1960, its collections, which have benefited from the Musée de France label since 2003, have been presented at the Musée de Montmartre.
› The company Kléber Rossillon
The group took over the management of the Montmartre Museum in July 2011. It launched an ambitious extension and renovation program. This project made it possible in particular to double the exhibition areas, renovate the studio-apartment of Suzanne Valadon and Maurice Utrillo, and redesign the three gardens that Renoir painted on site.